• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

How to get a diverse friend circle?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DOWN

Banned
One of my jobs is super diverse and I love it and knowing other cultures there but I'm not good at creating friendships outside of the workplace. My other job on the other hand has me kind of pissed off because out of like 130 people, two are black (no joke) and like 5 are Hispanic. The rest are like grossly conservative white christians who like Trump and mock gays and yesterday I caught one of the grossest racist comments I've ever heard in person. So that job won't be a source of diverse experiences.

But further than that, my white, straight, Christian parents have almost no non-white non-straight friends (my mom is friends with one black woman but I don't live with my parents so I never see her anymore).

My boyfriend is from Colombia so that's been nice to hear lots about his culture. But I want some diverse friends! If I have kids sometime I want them to have all kinds of role models. Black role models, Asian, etc.

So how did you find people outside of your culture and background? Like literally where do you find people?

Fake edit: literally as I'm typing this on my break, a guy is going on a rant about how a survey he is taking says "male, female, other" and "what the hell is other? Have we gone mad." Yeah I want the exact opposite of that bigoted hell in my friendships

Fake edit: literally as I'm typing this on my break, a guy is going on a rant about how a survey he is taking says "male, female, other" and "what the hell is other? Have we gone mad." Yeah I want the exact opposite of that bigoted hell in my friendships

By listening and being tolerant of opinions that don't align with your own.

lol..

Anyway: