• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

The power gap= PS5 vs Switch! The results do not show on screen.

Gamer79

Predicts the worst decade for Sony starting 2022
*Disclaimer: This is no fanboy post as I own and love both platforms. I am also gaming these are a very serious Television: 65inch Samsung QD-oled S90C

I got to a admit I am no graphical engineer. I've learned enough about tech over the year to form what I believe to be a solid opinion. The PS5 just guessing (different architectures) but somewhere in the realm has 20-100x the performance of a docked Nintendo Switch. The Switch's chip was a mobile chip released on the Nvidia Shield all the way back in 2015. It also is not using the full capabilities of the X1 chip due to the need to be mobile power balance. The Switch has major limitations like it cannot display HDR, or has slick modern lighting effects. With that said, the power gap is not not that drastic. I believe game design, art, and just pure creativity overcomes that power gap.

For those of you who have both I usher you this challenge. Take your best looking switch games and compare them to your best looking PS5 games. Yes the PS5 games will have higher resolution and better lighting/colors.(hdr) Outside of that, there isn't a big difference at all. Infact, some switch games even look better to the eye than some PS5 games. I am not even going into the eye sex of say Metroid Dread on the small oled handheld mode. My point being, it seems like we have hit a wall when it comes to power vs results.

PS5> Much better resolution>> much better lighting>>> Much better texture Quality>>> etc etc.

Switch>>> Games do not look as good but does not look miles worse. Games like Mario Odyssey, Mario Kart, Smash Bros, Luigi's Mansion 3, and many others can go toe to toe visually with some PS5 games.

Dacvak