• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Assassins Creed Odyssey is a gigantic, bloated, mtx ridden, beautiful mess…and i absolutely love it

Fredrik

if I remember correctly, they stated female Eivor is canon, and male Eivor was created just so the player could choose for themselves how they wanted to play.
Yeah I understand their reason but for people living up here in viking land it’s like saying ”male Elizabeth” or ”male Victoria” etc, it’s instantly something you laugh at if you’ve ever met anyone called Eivor.
I’m not an expert or anything but ending the name with -vor means it’s a lady, Eivor, Gunvor, Majvor, etc. Add an -a after my name and I’d be a lady. The northern languages are highly gendered tbh.
But whatever, fast-forward 20 years and I’m sure we’ll have male Elizabeths and female Arthurs walking among us, but we’re not there yet.

Smiggs

Yeah I understand their reason but for people living up here in viking land it’s like saying ”male Elizabeth” or ”male Victoria” etc, it’s instantly something you laugh at if you’ve ever met anyone called Eivor.
I’m not an expert or anything but ending the name with -vor means it’s a lady, Eivor, Gunvor, Majvor, etc. Add an -a after my name and I’d be a lady. The northern languages are highly gendered tbh.
But whatever, fast-forward 20 years and I’m sure we’ll have male Elizabeths and female Arthurs walking among us, but we’re not there yet.
You'll have to excuse my ignorance of the word then, I am American and it comes naturally to a lot of us 🤣

Agree!!

I’m such an old school AC gamer. I didn’t touch anything post-AC3.

Decided to play Odyssey (as Kasssandra of course) and I fucking love it!!

Tried giving Valhalla and the others a go but just….no.